Milady Operative – Questions 1

• What made you choose to go to beauty school?

 

I’ve always been fascinated with the beauty industry and after 9 years in undergraduate and graduate school for a career that I wasn’t crazy about, I decided it was time for me to do something I loved doing. I have a Masters in Creative Nonfiction, which after a very long, hard, grueling scholastic journey, I figured it wasn’t my cup of tea but knew that cosmetology was a passion of mine. I wanted to be passionate about something in my future, so here I am.

• What was the thing you most struggled with in the last 2 weeks and how did you overcome it?

Anatomy, in school we are on a continuous enrollment plan, so we are a little out of the typical cycle of chapters and we just finished the Anatomy section. I knew going into it that the chapter was going to be brutal, so I figured studying while we learned would be best. As we went over each section of the chapter, I would reread the whole chapter and study the terminology as we went along so studying for the exam wouldn’t be so stressful.

• What was the thing you are proudest of in the last 2 weeks? Why?

I received a 97% on my Anatomy exam, mainly because I worked hard on that chapter. In undergrad I always did well in science and math courses, but some times you loose some of the information once retained, if you don’t use it. I don’t use Anatomy information in my daily life! So, it was nice to know that the brushing up on the information, I needed to know, was done accurately.

• What’s your favorite way to study?

From so many years of studying and learning how to study from so many different instructors, I have to study many different ways. I am a verbiage kind of person, so I have to know words and how they are used, first. Then, I like to write out information, notes, or key points, which is followed by reading and then intense memorizing of my notes before a test.

• What do you hope to do once you graduate?

Honestly, I don’t have a plan at this point. I hope to be a productive stylist, first and for most but beyond that, I don’t care. I would love to be a platform artist for a larger company, but if that doesn’t work out then being part of a traveling team focusing on similar goals would be awesome, too.

• What’s a fun fact about you?

I have three cats and a Jack Chi, which is my little princess, and I am super fascinated with antiques.

Leave a Reply

